RSS

What’s In Your Bathroom?

09 Sep

In my quest to get healthy, I have started to realize that I can’t only focus on what I am putting in my body, but also on what I am putting on my body. Growing up with skin issues, I have spent a lot of money on skincare products over the years, from moisturizers to cleansers of all sorts to treatments for allergies, eczema, and acne. Then there is the makeup-concealer, foundation, powder, eyeshadow, lipstick, mascara-the list goes on, and the layers add up, as we girls try to imitate magazine life. Add to all that the shampoos, conditioners, and styling products for my long, frizzy, curly hair, and I’ve donated a lot of money to the beauty industry. For example, here is an idea of what a typical month of toiletry spending looked like for me:

Shampoo + Conditioner: $10-$14

Styling products: $10-$18

Moisturizer, skin treatments: $14

Deodorant, toothpaste, soap: $5

Makeup (foundation, concealer, occasional blush/eyeshadow): $10-$15

Total: $49-$66 a month

What a crazy amount of money I was spending! And me the highly budget-conscious one.  But beyond that, there was the cost of all the toxins in those products. For that price, I was also getting daily doses of the following:

Methylparabens

Propylparabens

aluminum

octenylsuccinate

Ethylene oxide

And these were just a few of the fun ingredients in my routine.

So what to do? Do I just swear off beauty products and stop wearing deodorant? I don’t think that would go over well with my friends and coworkers. But there are alternatives.

Things I’ve tried include making my own deodorant and using the oil cleansing method. I switched to washing my hair with baking soda solution and conditioning with apple cider vinegar. I am making or buying moisturizers composed of coconut oil, beeswax, and essential oils, and only using a small amount of mineral makeup from a company that gets excellent safety ratings.

This is what I have done over the past three weeks. And I will tell you that while it took a few days for my body to balance itself out, as of today my hair looks better than ever, my scalp is much happier, and I still smell nice. I actually sweat less! And all for the cost of a little coconut oil and baking soda. I estimate I am saving about $40 a month, although I feel the real benefit is avoiding the carcinogens and synthetic estrogens that can cause havoc on our endocrine systems.

It may not be for everyone, but I would highly recommend you check out the Cosmetic Safety Database and see what the products you use contain.  Even if you don’t go homemade, there are better natural alternatives out there.  With all the toxins we meet daily in our environment, a little research is worth it.

This post is part of Simple Lives Thursday

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “What’s In Your Bathroom?

  1. Leslie

    September 10, 2010 at 18:42

    Go you! Do you have any good moisturizer recipes that you make? I do a lot of oil mixtures, but I’d like to try something creamy soon.

     
    • becca

      September 10, 2010 at 21:06

      I used an idea from Made On Lotion: I put a small pot of water on to simmer and placed a glass jar in the water. In the jar I had half an ounce of beeswax, about half a cup of coconut oil, and a couple tablespoons of olive oil. I let it simmer until the beeswax was completely melted and then stirred it well and let is set up. It’s creamy but solid at room temp, and as soon as you scoop some out with your hands it melts into a very nice lotion. If you used more olive oil it would be more liquid at room temp. My husband loves it because it doesn’t feel greasy-it melts right into the skin and he says it feels the most like natural skin oils than anything I have ever used.

       
  2. dritta

    September 24, 2010 at 03:54

    I checked out that make-up company, and it looks awesome! Next time you order you should let me know, and I’ll piggyback on yours. I want to try one or two things, eventually… 🙂

    I’ve also been fond of ZuZu Luxe make-up, which you can buy at PCC. Good safety ratings, but about twice the price of Everyday Minerals. However, it’s the only mascara I’ve been able to find that’s both safe and good.

     
    • becca

      September 24, 2010 at 17:34

      Will do! And thanks for the mascara recommendation-I haven’t been able to find one yet.

       
  3. ruby coupe

    October 1, 2010 at 22:13

    go girl, Im glad Im not the only one, sometimes I feel like Im the odd one out when all around me ladies and gents are spray happy!!

     
  4. Nikki

    July 6, 2011 at 16:05

    bellaphoria and signature minerals are the ONLY corn-free makeup companies that my corn-allergic support forum can tolerate…. the makeups are really pure and lovely!
    Becca- I still can’t find a corn-free mascara, and it seems like gluten-free mascara is hard to come by as well. With your experimentation with oils, can you think of some concoction with activated charcoal for color for eyeliner/ mascara?

     

Leave a Reply

 
